Friday, August 20, 2010

Meet Satan.....

 .....uh, Seitan.....that is. Pronounced the same, and equally evil to wheat allergic and gluten intolerant foodies worldwide, this substance is descriptive of foods made from the gluten portion of wheat. Coincidence?

Wheat and gluten, also known in my house as contraband and kryptonite respectively, are detrimental to those who've met their tolerance threshold.

Seitan specifically is typically found in meat substitute food products, like veggie burgers, meatless nuggets, etc. It is the glutinous 'elastic mass' as wikipedia explains, that has a more chewy meat like texture than other vegetarian substitutes.

Word to the wise: Look for gluten (wheat, barley, oats, rye) in all things that stick together. Dough, Play-Doh, meatballs, meatloaf, hot dogs, veggie burgers, soups, dressings, condiments, sauces, beer, root beer, cookies, cakes, crackers, pastas, casseroles, etc.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Are you a fellow Food Prude? Tell us your thoughts....

For Email Marketing you can trust